Blogging About Blogging

ConsentFistI’m not the kind of person to post book reviews on her blog. I don’t want to slam on authors that put a lot of effort into writing, or praise authors that I particularly related to and beg readers to read something that might not be their “cup of tea.”

This being said, I just finished reading Rebecca MacKinnon’s Consent of the Networked, (which, by the way, I did thoroughly enjoy) and I had a couple of quick thoughts.

MacKinnon uses her book to highlight what we all get ourselves into by relying so heavily on the Internet. She covers everything from private, corporate censorship to government interference, and constantly stresses the rights of “netizens”.

I’m going to be honest – I’m an Internet optimist. Yes, as MacKinnon so often stresses, there are constraints on what people can and cannot post, but for the most part I believe the Internet is what you make of it.

In her book, MacKinnon complains how so much of the public isn’t aware of censorship because most of the information about it is found “in online niche media, blogs, and social media networks, read by niche communities of tech-savvy young people.” But isn’t it also a good thing that some people are actively writing and seeking out information on this? I consider that a win for the Internet.

Maybe I’m a baby blogger, and maybe I do have a niche readership of “tech-savvy young people”, but that doesn’t make my opinions any less valuable.  MacKinnon may belittle posts like this, but every thought has to start somewhere.  And if any of my posts reaches just one person, that’s good enough for me.

Well niche community – are you with me?

Leave a Reply

