To Read or Not To Read

books_00426234I always seem to find myself in the same predicament – choosing between sleeping and reading. And, as suggested by my morning coffee ritual, I tend to choose the latter.

But I have no regrets. I love reading. I love the feeling of an actual book in my hands. I love curling up with hot tea and good book and leaving the rest of the world behind. I especially love the smell of old books, that combination of vanilla and musk and knowledge.

But don’t worry, I’m not about blab about what books you should or shouldn’t read. This isn’t some pretentious post pretending I know what you would enjoy. I’m not promoting reading something; I’m promoting reading anything.

I’m going to let you in on a little secret…it doesn’t matter what you read. A riveting romance, a boisterous biography, even the newspaper – it’s entirely up to you. My point is that in deciding “to read or not to read”, please, please choose reading. Reading is to the mind what exercise is to the body – except that you can do it without leaving the comfort of an armchair. For, “no matter how busy you may think you are, you must find time for reading, or surrender yourself to self-chosen ignorance.” (Confucius) And as a journalist, there is very little that is more important than maintaining an open mind. A good book, whatever that might be to you, can stretch your limits, expand your horizons or even tear at your heartstrings.

Technology has made it easier than ever for us to choose reading. You can look up book reviews, check out online recommendations, and even read straight from your computer or tablet. That being said, technology has also made it easier than ever to avoid reading. I don’t know where along the way our lazy society deemed reading as “work,” but they were wrong. Once you find the right book, reading for pleasure is exactly that – pleasure.

So choose to read. Choose to better your mind and better your soul. To read or not to read…that isn’t the question. The question, instead, is what to read next.

Leave a Reply

